US Sanctions Three Space Centers in Iran

The Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) at the US Treasury Department announced on Tuesday that three of the Islamic Republic of Iran’s space centers named Iranian Space Agency, Aerospace Research Institute, and Iranian Space Research Center, have been added to the list of sanctions against the Islamic Republic.

While announcing the news that the Iranian Space Agency has been sanctioned by the US, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said: “The United States will not allow Iran to use the space program as a cover for its ballistic missile program.”

Secretary Pompeo’s statement mentions the explosion at the launchpad of the Nahid Satellite rocket as an example of missile testing under the guise of sending satellites to space and an urgent threat that is used by the Islamic Republic of Iran.

Previously, President Trump announced that the United States had no role in the launchpad explosion in Imam Khomeini Space Center in Semnan province.

Ali Rabiei, the spokesperson for the government of Iran on Monday confirmed the explosion at the Imam Khomeini Space Center and said the explosion had occurred before the satellite was transferred to the platform.



Iran in Brief
The spokesperson for the GuardianCouncil announced that the council has approved of the bill to "fight Israel's hostilities". The bill tasks the...More
The body of human rights activist Ali Ajamiwas transferred to Iran and buried in his hometown in Sabzevar on Thursday. He was found dead on May 6 in...More
Iran’s Medical Council reported that 792 medical personnel in Iran have contracted coronavirus and 107 have died. A spokesman for the Medical Council...More
IRGC’s Tasnim news agency announced in a report that the military’s Ghadr ballistic missile was used for the launch of Noor satellite and its...More
In an interview with Shargh newspaper, the president of Iran's Judo Federation, Arash Mir-Esmaili, expressed concern over judoka Saeed Mollaei's...More